Skip Navigation

OSU-Tulsa staff honored with 2020 Minor and Hess awards

Published: Friday, December 18, 2020

Academic counselor Sherry Clegg and safety officer Patty White were recognized for their distinguished service to OSU-Tulsa students, faculty and staff.

Max Minor Service Award

Clegg is the recipient of the 2020 Max Minor Service Award. She has gone above and beyond as an academic counselor, including taking on the task of advising for the new combined College of Education and Human Sciences. Clegg and other academic counselors have been crucial to the success of OSU-Tulsa students amid the challenges this year have presented. The award is given to an academic affairs staff member each year.

Roberta Joan Cothran Hess Award

White has earned this year’s Roberta Joan Cothran Hess Award. She has been integral in OSU-Tulsa’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic, spending countless hours planning and implementing safety measures, reviewing policies and acting as a liaison between OSU-Tulsa, OSU-Center for Health Sciences and OSU-Stillwater. She also continues to oversee lab and occupational safety for both OSU-Tulsa and OSU-CHS. The Hess Award is given to staff members from Administration and Finance groups who excel in their work.

Each of these annual awards come with a certificate and $500 cash. You can nominate staff for these awards online.


Media Contact: Aaron Campbell | 918-594-8046 |